What are the 6 eye muscles called?

What are the 6 eye muscles called?

There are seven extraocular muscles – the levator palpebrae superioris, superior rectus, inferior rectus, medial rectus, lateral rectus, inferior oblique and superior oblique. Functionally, they can be divided into two groups: Responsible for eye movement – Recti and oblique muscles.

What are the muscle of the eye?

The human eye has six eye muscles. They are split into two primary groups: the recti muscles and the oblique muscles. The four recti muscles are the lateral rectus, the medial rectus, the inferior rectus, and the superior rectus while the two oblique muscles are the inferior oblique and the superior oblique.

What are the 6 extrinsic eye muscles What is the action of each of the muscles what cranial nerve Innervates each of the eye muscles?

The muscles of the eye are innervated by three cranial nerves. Most of the muscles of the eye are innervated by the oculomotor nerve (cranial nerve III). The lateral rectus is innervated by the abducens nerve, CN IV, which causes abduction of the eye. The trochlear nerve, CN VI, innervates the superior oblique.

What is retina function?

The retina is an essential part of the eye that enables vision. It’s a thin layer of tissue that covers approximately 65 percent of the back of the eye, near the optic nerve. Its job is to receive light from the lens, convert it to neural signals and transmit them to the brain for visual recognition.

Can you control eye muscles?

Three cranial nerves are responsible for controlling the eye muscles. These are the third cranial nerve (oculomotor nerve), the fourth cranial nerve (trochlear nerve), and the sixth cranial nerve (abducens nerve). The secondary names of these nerves kind of give away what muscles they control.

Can we control our eye muscles?

The brain exerts ultimate control over both voluntary and involuntary eye movement. Three cranial nerves carry signals from the brain to control the extraocular muscles.

Which muscles are responsible for eye movements?

Three antagonistic pairs of muscles control eye movements: the lateral and medial rectus muscles, the superior and inferior rectus muscles, and the superior and inferior oblique muscles.

About the Author

You may also like these