What are the 28 states and 7 union territories of India?

What are the 28 states and 7 union territories of India?

States and Union Territories

  • Andhra Pradesh(Amaravati)
  • Arunachal Pradesh(Itanagar)
  • Assam(Dispur)
  • Bihar(Patna)
  • Chhattisgarh(Raipur)
  • Goa(Panaji)
  • Gujarat(Gandhinagar)

Which are the 28 states and 9 Union territories?

The Union Territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli have become a single union territory since January 26 through a Bill passed by the Parliament in the winter session….India now has 28 states and 8 UTs.

S.NO 9
State Himachal Pradesh
Capital Shimla
CM Jairam Thakur
Governor Bandaru Dattatraya

How many states and UT are there in India 2021?

The federal union of India is broken into 29 states and seven territories. All of the states and unions of the nation have three capitals. The first is the administrative capital, which is home to the executive government offices. The judicial capital is where territorial high courts are located.

Which state became the 28th state of India?

Founded by the States Reorganisation Act, 1956 as Mysore State, renamed Karnataka in 1973.

What are the 8 union territories of India?

The 8 Union territories of India include Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Puducherry, Chandigarh, An (Read More) daman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep. Union Territories are special administrative sectors in the republic of India which operate directly under the central government.

Which is the 29th State of the Union of India?

On 2 June 2014, Telangana was separated from Andhra Pradesh as the 29th state of the union. On 31 October 2019, Jammu and Kashmir state was bifurcated into 2 new Union Territories- Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and Union Territory of Ladakh.

Are there 29 or 28 states in India?

Until 6 August 2019, there were officially 29 states in India. But that number now has decreased by one to make 28 states after Jammu & Kashmir was granted the status of a Union Territory with its own legislature.

How many states and UTs are there in India?

Indian States: Union Territories and Capitals At Present India has 8 Union Territories and 28 States. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020.

About the Author

You may also like these