What was the first language of India?

What was the first language of India?

The Sanskrit language has been spoken since 5,000 years before Christ. Sanskrit is still the official language of India. However, in the present time, Sanskrit has become a language of worship and ritual instead of the language of speech.

What are the top 5 languages spoken in India?

As per the 2011 Census of India, languages by highest number of speakers are as follows: Hindi, Bengali, Marathi, Telugu, Tamil, Gujarati, Urdu, Kannada, Odia, Malayalam.

What is India’s native language?

India/Official languages
India has approximately 22 major languages that are written in about 13 different scripts. While the country’s official languages are both, English and Hindi, Hindi remains the most preferred language used online especially in the northern rural areas.

Which is the coolest language in India?

Top 10 Most Popular Indian Languages

  • Hindi. Hindi is officially the most popular language spoken across India.
  • Bengali. The second most widely spoken language after Hindi is none other than Bengali which is said to be spoken by approximately 8% of the entire population.
  • Telugu.

When did the Indo-Aryan language become a language?

The Indo-Aryan languages developed and emerged in three stages — Old Indo-Aryan (1500 BCE to 600 BCE), Middle Indo-Aryan stage (600 BCE and 1000 CE) and New Indo-Aryan (between 1000 CE and 1300 CE). The modern north Indian Indo-Aryan languages all evolved into distinct, recognisable languages in the New Indo-Aryan Age.

Which is the third most spoken language in India?

Telugu is a Dravidian language and one of the official primary languages in Indian states. It is an official language in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, and Puducherry Territory. Telugu has the third highest number of native speakers, spoken by 74 million people or 7.9% of the population, and has a total of 84 million speakers (8.2%).

Which is the first classical language of India?

Sanskrit was declared a classical language in 2005. Kannada is a Dravidian language spoken by about 50 million people or 5% of the Indian population as either first or alternative language. It is spoken by over 37 million people or 3.7% of the population as a first language.

What are the 22 official languages of India?

‘The Indian Language’ Is Actually 22 Separate Official Languages The Indian constitution recognizes 22 official languages: Bengali, Hindi, Maithili, Nepalese, Sanskrit, Tamil, Urdu, Assamese, Dogri, Kannada, Gujarati, Bodo, Manipur (also known as Meitei), Oriya, Marathi, Santali, Telugu, Punjabi, Sindhi, Malayalam, Konkani and Kashmiri.

About the Author

You may also like these