What is Middle Belt state in Nigeria?

What is Middle Belt state in Nigeria?

States of Nigeria which are generally referred to as belonging to the Middle Belt are: old Plateau (now Plateau and Nasarawa), old Gongola (now Adamawa and Taraba), Niger, Kwara, Kogi, Benue, the Federal Capital Territory, alongside Southern Kaduna, Southern Bauchi, Southern Kebbi, Southern Gombe, Southern Yobe State …

How many Middle Belt states are in Nigeria?

How many state are middle belt in Nigeria? There are 7 middle belt states.

How many states are in the Middle Belt?

eight states
The Middle Belt provokes extreme reactions. These eight states – Adamawa, Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau and Taraba – and the Federal Capital Territory are the “glue of the nation” for veteran politicians like Enugu State Governor Chimaroke Nnamani, and Solomon Lar.

Which country is under North Belt?

In 1967, Northern Nigeria was divided into the North-Eastern State, North-Western State, Kano State, Kaduna State, Kwara State, and the Benue-Plateau State, each with its own Governor….Northern Region, Nigeria.

Northern Region Arewacin Najeriya Northern Nigeria
Official languages English
Major languages show List Bura-Pabir

How many Yoruba state are in Nigeria?

six states
The bulk of the Yoruba currently live in southwest Nigeria, in six states: Ekiti, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo, and Lagos (Figure 1.2). Large populations of Yoruba people are also in the Kwara and Kogi states in north-central Nigeria.

Which states are in north east Nigeria?

North East is one of the geopolitical zones of Nigeria, consisting of the following states:

  • Adamawa.
  • Bauchi.
  • Borno.
  • Gombe.
  • Taraba.
  • Yobe.

Which state is the center of Nigeria?

Abuja (/əˈbuːdʒə/) is the capital and eighth most populous city of Nigeria. Located in the centre of the country within the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), it is a planned city built in the 1980s based on a Master Plan designed by Japanese Architect Kenzo Tange.

Which is part of Nigeria is in the Middle Belt?

Areas of Nigeria which are generally referred to as belonging to the Middle Belt are: Benue State, Plateau State, Taraba State Niger State, Kogi State, Nassarawa State, Kwara State, Adamawa State, and the Federal Capital Territory ( Abuja ), as well as the southern parts of Kaduna State, Kebbi State,…

What was the history of the Middle Belt?

Surrounded by divergent religious, economic, and cultural histories, the middle belt has been the melting pot where small and large ethno-religious groups in Nigeria have long coexisted, but where they have also increasingly collided over land, resources, identity and political power.

What are the languages of the Middle Belt?

Afro-Asiatic, Nilo-Saharan, and Niger–Congo languages are all spoken, which are three of the primary African language families. In the 1920s, it was described by Melzian (1928:496) as the “Middle Zone”.

What is the population of the Middle Belt?

The population of the Middle Belt as of 1991, was about 17.3 million but now predicted to be over 45 million people living in the middle belt region, with a predominant Christian population of 65%, Muslim population of 25% and Animist population of 10% of the total population.

About the Author

You may also like these