Did ground-rule doubles used to be home runs?

Did ground-rule doubles used to be home runs?

The American League had already adopted the ground-rule double prior to the 1929 campaign. All home runs now had to clear the outfield wall on a fly. The ground-rule double, as it came to be known, would be called on hits like López’s where a ball bounces in fair territory and into the stands.

Can you score on a ground-rule double?

Application of the ground rule or automatic double rule can result in a runner at first base, who appears to have been able to score on a batted ball, being required to return to third base due to the ball going out of play.

What is considered a ground-rule double?

A ground rule double is a double awarded by the umpire because a fair ball became unplayable according the the ground rules of the ballpark. A runner from first base is thus required to stop at third, even if he obviously could have scored had the ball not gone out of play.

Who has the most ground-rule doubles?

Tris Speaker
A batter may also be credited with a ground-rule double when a fair ball, after touching the ground, bounds into the stands or becomes lodged in a fence or scoreboard. Hall of Fame center fielder Tris Speaker holds the Major League Baseball career doubles record with 792.

What is the difference between a ground rule double and an automatic double?

See, an “automatic double” is a ball that bounces and goes over a fence. But a “ground-rule double” is something specific to that ballpark at that moment. Say, a ball getting stuck under a bullpen bench or stuck in the ivy with Andre Dawson.

What happens when a batter gets hit by a pitch?

A hit-by-pitch occurs when a batter is struck by a pitched ball without swinging at it. He is awarded first base as a result. Strikes supersede hit-by-pitches, meaning if the umpire rules that the pitch was in the strike zone or that the batter swung, the HBP is nullified.

What happens when a pitch hits the ground and then the batter?

IF A PITCH HITS THE GROUND, THEN HITS THE BATTER, AND THE BATTER DID NOT SWING; IS THE BATTER ENTITLED TO FIRST BASE? Answer: Yes. A pitch is a ball delivered to the batter by the pitcher. It doesn’t have to be in-flight to be a pitch.

What’s a ground rule triple?

If a defensive player throws his glove to stop a batted ball, the batter and all runners are entitled to 3 bases. The same penalty is applied if the fielder catches the ball with his hat or any other part of his uniform. ( MLB rules 7.05.b and c)

What do umpires need to know about Babe Ruth?

In general, the best tool an umpire can have is a thorough understanding of the game, its concepts, its strategy, and most importantly, its rules. As a reminder, all Babe Ruth Baseball and Softball games must be played in accordance with the Official Baseball Rules and the Official Babe Ruth Softball rules, respectively.

When did Babe Ruth hit his first home run?

Home Runs By Season Year Home Runs HR Total 1915 4 4 1916 3 7 1917 2 9 1918 11 20

What are the rules for the Babe Ruth League?

BABE RUTH LEAGUE SPECIAL RULES AND REGULATIONS. Re-Entry Rule (All Divisions) Any of the nine starting players may withdraw and re-enter once provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever he or she is in the line-up. A substitute who is withdrawn may not re-enter.

Is it true that Babe Ruth was alone at the top of baseball?

No, Ruth was alone at the top, exactly where baseball fans wanted him. This is where baseball fans still want him. He has become more folk hero than ballplayer, and while the greatest ever in other sports tends to be a moving target, Ruth has maintained his place at the top of baseball for more than 75 years.

About the Author

You may also like these