What is the Key Stage 1 curriculum?

What is the Key Stage 1 curriculum?

KS1 covers all compulsory national curriculum subjects. These are English, maths, science, history, geography, computing, languages, PE, art and design, music and design and technology.

What is ICT KS1?

Learning about ICT at KS1 Within the Developing Ideas and Making Things Happen strand, children use ICT to give instructions and explore what happens in situations. Within the Exchanging and Sharing Information aspect of the programme of study, children use text, images, tables and sounds to present their ideas.

What are the key stages of the national curriculum?

What are the Key Stages in the National Curriculum?

  • Key Stage 1. Key Stage 1 covers ages 5-7 and years 1 and 2 at school.
  • Key Stage 2. Key Stage 2 covers ages 7-11 and school years 3 to 6.
  • Key Stage 3. Key Stage 3 refers to the first 3 years of secondary school, covering ages 11-14 and school years 7-9.
  • Key Stage 4.

Why is computing in the national curriculum?

Computing also ensures that pupils become digitally literate – able to use, and express themselves and develop their ideas through, information and communication technology – at a level suitable for the future workplace and as active participants in a digital world.

What Are Key Stage 1 and 2?

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) – ages 3-5 (Nursery and Reception) Key Stage 1 – ages 5-7 (Years 1-2) Key Stage 2 – ages 7-11 (Years 3-6) Key Stage 4 – ages 14-16 (Years 10-11)

What is a binary tree ks1?

A binary tree is a rooted tree in which every node has at most two children. A full binary tree is a tree in which every node has zero or two children. Sometimes the perfect binary tree is called the complete binary tree.

How do computers help you learn?

A computer helps them to easily input grades and student data into programs that will quickly compute the percentages and scores of their students accurately. It is important for both teachers and students to learn and be familiar with using a computer to gather information and distribute ideas.

What is the Key Stage 2 curriculum?

KS2 is a part of the National Curriculum. This tells schools what subjects to teach and it tells teachers which topics to cover and at what level. As well as subjects and topics, the National Curriculum also sets out how KS2 pupils should be tested or assessed and the level they should achieve.

When was ICT added to the national curriculum?

In 1998, the British Educational Communications and Technology Agency (BECTA) was set up. The body was partly responsible for introducing a new primary curriculum in 2009, in which ICT was made a core skill.

Is ICT part of the national curriculum?

1 Schools have two responsibilities for ICT in the National Curriculum: a to teach the National Curriculum programme of study for ICT; b to give pupils opportunities to apply and develop ICT capability across the curriculum (all subjects).

When do you use ICT in primary school?

See Assessment and Reporting at Key Stages 1 and 2 for more details. The curriculum requirements for Using ICT are set out under the 5 ‘E’s: Explore, Express, Exchange, Evaluate and Exhibit. These apply to all pupils in primary school, from Year 1 to Year 7. Explore includes two statements.

What are the key stages of the computing curriculum?

Computing programmes of study: key stages 1 and 2 National curriculum in England Purpose of study A high-quality computing education equips pupils to use computational thinking and creativity to understand and change the world.

What are the different types of ICT skills?

It’s important that children develop their technical skills in a range of different types of ICT, such as: 1 publishing; 2 presenting; 3 coding; 4 managing data; 5 art and design; 6 music and sound; and 7 film and animation.

Do you have to teach example content in Key Stage 1?

By the end of each key stage, pupils are expected to know, apply and understand the matters, skills and processes specified in the relevant programme of study. Schools are not required by law to teach the example content in [square brackets]. Computing – key stages 1 and 2 2 Subject content Key stage 1 Pupils should be taught to:

About the Author

You may also like these